Mean, Green & Delicious Raw Spaghetti

Lately I have been all about the zucchini noodles, I will have on any given day at least four zucchinis in my fridge… just waiting to be spun into perfect crisp noodles.  I know a lot of people who are not a fan of this delightful squash…  Reminiscing, fearing even – over cooked, squishy, tasteless summer squash – now that appeals to very few… if any. Luckily raw zucchini is absolutely wonderful, soaks up whatever tastes it’s paired with, and gives a nice juicy crunch with every bite.

Image

Using a spiralizer is the easiest way to make zucchini noodles..  well noodles out of any vegetable for that matter. You attach it on one end, spin towards the blade on the opposite end.. and voila!  So simple! It uses no electricity, just the power of your hand, which not only makes the earth smile… it of course is a wonder in the summer…  I for one do not wish to turn my stove on when it’s soaring upwards of 28 degrees.  Of course, adding the benefit of eating all sorts of spiralized vegetables –  raw…..

Image

This is a huge nutritional bonus, and is vital in the summer time. Being able to eat fresh fruits and vegetables that have not traveled such a distance to get to our tables is so important. Huge nutrients are lost during the travel and storage of produce not in season. Here in Canada we are blessed with nutritive soil and (mostly) cooperative climate to enable all sorts of stone fruits, berries, greens, roots, etc in the summer season.  Sinking my teeth into a cherry that traveled no more than a day tops…  well, that’s the next best thing for someone like me who lives in the city and cannot have a large garden!

Image

Feeling something creamy as opposed to tomato, I dreamed up a green sort of Alfredo sauce. I wanted to add some spice to my “spaghetti” sauce without it being something fiery and hot. I didn’t want chili or big punchy pepper…  I opted instead for a very Canadian maple grainy mustard. Balancing out the spice in the mustard with some good ol’ maple was just perfect. Combine that with the sweetness of roasted garlic, the cheesy flavor of nutritional yeast and I was basically in heaven.

IMG_0975

Green Spaghetti Alfredo

1 Large Zucchini
1 Ripe Avocado
5 Cloves of Roasted Garlic
1 Tbsp Maple Grainy Mustard
2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast
1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
2 Tbsp of Water
Salt & Pepper

Using a spiralizer, a vegetable peeler, or a very sharp knife – form your zucchini into a thin spaghetti shape, set aside in a bowl.  In a small blender, or using a pestle and mortar combine all remaining ingredients, seasoning with salt and pepper as desired. Dollop the creamy avocado Alfredo on top of the zucchini noodles and enjoy!

Image

One thought on “Mean, Green & Delicious Raw Spaghetti

  1. Oh wow – this sounds just up my alley!!🙂 I’ve never made raw veggie noodles before and would love to try. I’m going to see if I can find a spiral-thingy here in Oz.🙂

Leave a Reply

