Immuni-tea Thai Soup

Image

I recently fell in love with the idea of using herbal tea blends as the base for a broth.  It never occurred to me before, thanks to my growing supply of various Harmonic Arts teas, roots and mushrooms…. I am now well versed in making tea broth!  Feeling a little bit under the weather? Why not boost the old chicken noodle with some echinacea! Ginger! Or how about….  you typically have digestive issues, why not use a tea with fennel! Ginger, or marshmallow!  It’s genius, really.  Perusing the Harmoinc Arts website looking for new and exciting elixirs and dried superfoods, I found myself stationed on the Willard family recipe page.  I kid you not.. the Immune Protective Vitality Soup stopped me in my tracks.

Image

I adapted their recipe and added a bit of an Asian flare… as I tend to do when cooking for myself.  Thai style soups are a staple for me, and seeing as I had made it home with a massive bag of organic Thai basil from the farmers market the other day…  it had to be a soup that I would have for supper.  Instead of rice noodles, I busted out the trusty spiralizer and made some perfect zucchini noodles! So delicious, crisp and fresh. Why not, right? I have been taking full advantage of the summer season and all the local produce.  Finishing this beautiful steaming bowl is what’s known as Japanese Seven Spice… or Shichimi Togarashi. A mix of citrus, sesame, poppy seeds, chili, paprika, Szechuan peppercorns, nori and garlic. If you don’t have access to this phenomenal blend, simple black or white sesame with cayenne would suffice.

Image

Immuni-tea Thai Soup

4 Cups of Water
5 Tbsp Harmonic Arts Immune Boosting Tea
2 Cups of Oyster Mushrooms
4 or 5 Cloves of Garlic
Knob of Ginger
1 Birds Eye Chili
1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
Juice of 1 Lime
Handful of Thai Basil
1 Zucchini – made into noodles
1 Broccoli Floret – chopped
Pinch of Himalayan Salt
Shichimi Togarashi – to taste

Get the water boiling on the stove then add in the Immune Boost tea, letting it simmer for about 15 minutes. Slice the garlic and birds eye chili, peel the garlic and add all three ingredients to the simmering pot. Allow the flavors to meld together for another 5 minutes or so.  Add in the oyster mushrooms and cover the pot, you don’t want to lose any of the broth while the mushrooms soak up the flavors. After about 10 minutes, add in the broccoli, lime juice and coconut oil – removing from the heat and replacing the lid. This will steam the broccoli without cooking it to mush. Using a spiralizer (or a grater, or even just a knife) whirl the zucchini into thin noodle strips. Taste the soup, season with salt if desired then add in the zucchini noodles. Let it sit for a moment before serving to lightly warm the zucchini noodles. Sprinkle with shichimi togarashi and fresh Thai basil.

Image

2 thoughts on “Immuni-tea Thai Soup

Leave a Reply

