What my body needs.. and some energy boosting gazpacho

What a crazy busy month May was!  Holy man!  Whirlwind of giving notice in my apartment… finding a new place to call home…  moving.. out and then .. in….. and many buckets of rain (hooray I love the rain!!).  Now – a long deep breath filled with pure joy.

Image

One of the meals I had come to rely on in my crazy busy May, was a very delicious gazpacho.  So simple, so quick, and totally amazing.  I never really appreciated cold soups before, warm soups are such a comfort…  curling up with a hot steaming bowl is one of my secret pleasures. Cold soup?  You can’t curl up with cold soup.  Well, that was perfect – seeing as I had very little time to curl up.

Image

Since making the choice to cut my consumption of eggs and diary, as well as to incorporate as many (primarily) raw meals into my day.. I feel like a completely new person. I have way more energy during the day yet fall asleep much easier at night, my belly is a much happier camper.. if bellies could be campers.. and although I had a fairly high stress month, I felt generally pretty awesome!  Fueling my body with freshness greatly reduced the internal stress on my digestive system.  I honestly think that helped a lot with the overall stress I was under, eliminating digestive stress seemed to allow me to cope better with my external stress…. or maybe the extra boost of raw vitamins and minerals impacted my mood/outlook/attitude to such an extent that I felt mentally and emotionally lighter.  I am going to go ahead and vote both.  I realize that some people find raw food difficult to digest, and a lot of people have told me to “cut the crap” – rejoin the land of eggs and cheese. Cutting meat is a big step, let alone all animal products. I’ve done very well for someone who loves oozy melty yummy cheese.. and can happily pack away egg after egg.  In recent days I have been craving eggs for breakfast, and have given in to those cravings.   I am finding more and more each day that my body tells me everything it needs, the challenge is listening to it and understanding the messages.  Fitting into a category seems to be an importance for so many people these days (or maybe it’s trying to not fit into a specific category.. thus placing ourselves in a different one?). When the only real slot you fit into is the one that you innately are.  Our natural ebb and flow cannot be a category..  whether it’s “cool” to be a veggie, a vegan, a raw foodist, a carnivore…  or anything in between, fueling with what makes you feel optimal is key.

This soup…. makes me feel top notch. For sure! The addition of seeds, extra veggies, different oils and spices gives it extra vitamins, minerals and protein. I made quite a large batch because I love the flavor the garlic imparts the next day… keep that in mind when adding garlic, I am a big big BIG fan…   Not so crazy about garlic? Especially the kick it gives raw? Maybe add a little less.

Image

 Energy Boosting Gazpacho

5 Heirloom Tomatoes
1 Whole Cucumber
4 Cloves of Garlic
1 Lemon – Juiced & Zested
Mineral, Spring, or Filtered Water
Fresh Ground Pepper – to taste

Optional Toppings

Hemp Hearts
Chili Flakes
Roasted Artichokes
Cilantro
Pumpkin Seeds
Flax Oil

Wash and chop the tomatoes and cucumbers, peel the garlic, and prep the lemon. Toss it all into a blender, starting with about 1.5 cups of water. Water content in the tomatoes and cucumber will increase once blended, so be careful – you could end up with a bounty of soup if you use too much water off the start.  Once it’s blended, transfer to a serving bowl and add fresh pepper, along with whatever toppings you can imagine!

Image

Leave a Reply

