Good fats?

Unfortunately, although I think that I eat very well…. I have always had quite high cholesterol. Even as a young child, I remember being told very strictly no cheese.. no eggs.. sad for me because those were and remain two of my favorite things to eat. Over the years that dropped away, and my cholesterol was forgotten. Until recently.  I found myself a new doctor and with that came the works – including up to date blood work. No big deal…. I’m not a huge fan of needles, but I can handle it.  Then the results came back and so did the memories of my eggless weekend mornings…

I was referred to a dietitian, and instructed to log a food journal for two weeks. Well, I did….  She (the dietitian) looked over my journal and concluded that I eat better than she does. The ultimate decision was that the cholesterol must be an inherited trait. So.. ever since, I have been managing it with a no-flush niacin, and a number of different oils.. aka the good fats!Image

I don’t consider myself to really eat “bad” fats anyway, my love for eggs and cheese has turned more into an occasional  indulgence and being that I don’t eat meat and don’t use a lot of butter.  Butter,  I was shocked to have been recommended by the dietitian to use margarine.. instead of butter. Especially, she said, for baking.  That just seemed unreal to me  –  really? Margarine? Instantly thoughts from my childhood came flooding back, memories of a friend who told me “margarine is basically one chemical away from being a plastic lawn chair”.  Now, I guess I shouldn’t really say .. too many horrible things about margarine, as I know many people use it………….     but come on.

Coconut and avocado are among my fats of choice, avocado, I have recently learned helps to regulate cholesterol, this is great news! Couple that with immune boosting, anti-inflammatory and anti-fungal properties and you’ll understand why this fruit is such a wonder. Avocado, along with my fish oils and blackcurrant will work wonders on my body and my blood! Fun fact: Avocados contain phytochemicals called beta-sitosterols which reduce the absorption of cholesterol from food. These are the same chemicals widely used in pharmaceutical cholesterol medications! I am loving that I can see foods as sustenance, remedies, and a source for creativity – versatility is key!

I decided, as my avocado ripened on my counter, that I would whip up some happy fat comfort this afternoon.  Not because I needed a pick-me-up… not because I was craving chocolate…. not because I needed to use up said avocado….   but because I wanted to prove to myself that it would work. That I could make the ever popular Chocolate Avocado Pudding and it would not taste one bit like an avocado.

Image

Welllll….. it doesn’t look like avocado! Not at all!  I was very impressed, quick, easy and delicious.

Image

Avocado Cacao Pudding

(sized perfectly for one person)

1 Ripe Avocado
2 Tbsp Raw Cacao Powder
3 Tbsp Honey
Tiny splash of mineral water
Pinch of Cinnamon

Literally…. toss everything into a blender or food processor and blend away until it’s smooth!  I, obviously, topped mine with pomegranate seeds- really just because I love the burst of juice from each seed and I find that it adds a wonderful flavor/texture combination to the slight bitterness of the cacao.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

