The last chocolate cookie recipe I will ever need..

Image

I am beginning to notice a pattern…  It seems that because I feel less secure in my baking abilities, baked goods are what I tend to post. Perhaps, it is because I am so proud when it works out that I must share! Whatever the reason, this recipe is beyond amazing.  I am not trying to toot my own horn here….

I have been told repeatedly that I simply should not bake, and for a long long time I completely agreed. Two years ago, I was given a KitchenAid mixer for Christmas…. now I mean the super heavy duty 15lbs industrial mixer. It fully takes both hands and arms to lift it from its place on my pantry shelf – the thing is a monster. I was given said mixer with a simple “maybe now you’ll be able to bake!”. Truth be told, the mixer did not help me. I realize that baking is a science – I am an artsy/language brain, not science/math brain.  That being said, and as I had mentioned in a previous post, for some reason I am completely capable of baking with unconventional flours. This makes me extremely happy!

Something about spending my Friday afternoons in the kitchen just makes my soul lift and my heart smile. These cookies, gave me an extra boost! I kid you not… they are amazing.Chocolate is popularly believed to comfort the broken hearted and to release the brain chemicals responsible for the feeling of being in love. Maybe that’s why I felt so euphoric after baking them….?  No, I think it is still based on the success of actually completing the task without ending up with a blob of dark chocolatey goo.  I used a mix of organic cacao powder, dark chocolate chips (80%), and cacao nibs. Now, cacao nibs are available either in raw or roasted form, they are crunchy chunks of the husked cocoa beans. Being that mine were purchased raw, they are quite bitter, so keep that in mind if adding them to your baking!

Image

Extremely Dark Chocolate Cherry Cookies

1 Cup Gluten Free Oat Flour
1/2 Cup Banana Powder (optional, but very recommended!)
3/4 Cup Cacao Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
Pinch of salt
1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter
1 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips (80%)
1 Cup Coconut Sugar
2 Eggs, beaten
3 Tbsp Whole Chocolate Milk
1/2 Cup Cacao Nibs
1 Cup Dried Sour Cherries

Preheat the oven to 325 and lightly grease your cookie sheet. In a large bowl mix together the oat flour, banana powder, cacao powder, baking soda & powder and the salt. Make sure to mix quite well as both the banana powder and the cacao powder can sometimes form clumps. Melt the butter and chocolate chips together over medium-low heat, stir constantly so the chocolate does not burn. Remove from the heat once the mixture is melted and smooth, allow to cool for a few moments. Whisk in both eggs, as well as the coconut sugar and the chocolate milk.  Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well. Once the dough has formed, toss in the cherries and the nibs, mix once again.  Drop with a tablespoon or a cookie scoop onto prepared baking sheet and bake for 8-13 minutes depending on your preferred softness! I personally enjoy my cookies quite soft, and the oat flour really delivers a brownie like consistency.

2 thoughts on “The last chocolate cookie recipe I will ever need..

  1. These sound really good! I ate found something similar in a little bakery in Pt. Reyes Station (California) while on vacation last week. It had cranberries and almonds in it. So rich and chocolaty…..thought I had found gluten free heaven.

Leave a Reply

