Life is ever changing…

Life is crazy

The last few months have taught me a whole lot about life…  especially that things change. It’s a scary thought – change – but when it comes right down to it, what can you do?  I find that most people view change as a negative..  really it isn’t. For me to actually say that after all of the things I have been going through.. is a pretty big deal. Change is just change, a neutral fact of life.  I am still struggling myself with this one: it is how you view that change that gives it negative power.   So, that being said, I am here to turn my recent changes into something I can use.

Just yesterday I commented to a friend that people are so funny! When we feel depressed, and I mean really down in the dumps, we want nothing to do but sit in a dark little hole until things get better.  I can attest to that! I typically view myself a positive person, but hey, toss me a heartbreak and I will be a bump on a log. We want nothing to do with the things that will make us feel better, want to sit here in our sorrow and wait. Those who know me will agree, food is my thing. Have I been cooking? No.  I have not.  I have disregarded anything that I enjoy.  Here is step one in feeling better: EAT!  That being said, I made a salad.  Better to sustain myself with quality in my time of emotional disrupt!  No McDonald’s for this chick!

I won’t pretend that I love or that I have always enjoyed a plate of salad.   Typically, I don’t.  It needs to be interesting! It needs to have protein, fruit, nuts, seeds, cheese… Give me a plate of lettuce with some croutons and I might just throw it at you. It doesn’t have to be complicated, just full of goodies.

  ImageThis salad here, really picked me up!

Couple handfuls of spinach
Couple handfuls of arugula (rocket)
Torn & massaged green kale
Handful of purple cabbage
Cucumber chunks
Cherry tomatoes
Nasturtium flowers
Goat cheese
Boiled Eggs

Simply dressed with a thick fresh Blueberry Vinaigrette!  I will happily make most fruits into a dressing, but thanks to DJ’s Market (a gem in the Calgary industrial park) I had an abundance of fresh blueberries.

Blueberry Vinaigrette

3 Tbsp of flax oil
3 or 4 Tbsp of good quality Balsamic
1 Tsp honey
A nice handful of washed blueberries

Blend it all up nicely with a hand blender or pestle & mortar and you are good to go!

Leave a Reply

